No Fee Unless We Win
Call for a Free Case Review
No Fee Unless We Win
Call for a Free Case Review
South Texas
Premont Car Accident Lawyer

Discuss your case with one of our attorneys

Your daily commute around our city may include traveling to work, running errands or dropping your children off at school. At some point, you might find yourself waiting at a red light only to have a speeding vehicle on the opposite side of traffic decide to go at the same time.

When you or a loved one are involved in this scenario or any type of car accident, an experienced personal injury attorney could help. A Premont car accident lawyer is trained in piecing together the scene of an accident to help individuals and families hold negligent drivers accountable for causing an automobile crash.

What to Do When Involved in a Car Accident

The first thing to do after any car accident is check for injuries and seek professional medical help. Not going to the hospital may increase the seriousness of injuries, even if the person feels fine in the moment. Here are some steps to take after a vehicle collision:

  1. Conduct an injury assessment and call an ambulance
  2. Contact law enforcement and make sure responding officers take an incident report and gather witness information
  3. Obtain vehicle and insurance information from the other motorist(s), and do not say anything that could be viewed as admitting partial or full responsibility
  4. Take clear pictures for the insurance company and potentially as evidence for a lawsuit

A car accident attorney in Premont could help an injured person to file a lawsuit correctly and advocate for them in settlement negotiations or in court.

Legal Assistance and Obtaining Damages After a Vehicle Accident

From doctor’s appointments to missed workdays and outstanding bills, the events following an auto accident can be overwhelming. When a person reaches out to legal counsel, they could learn the potential outcome of a lawsuit and build a strong case for compensation.

Under state law, a motorist must have vehicle insurance. According to the Texas Department of Insurance, a motorist needs to have an insurance policy amounting to at least $60,000, with at least $30,000 per individual and up to $25,000 for damages to property.

If a reckless driver is uninsured, caused a fatal accident, or does not have an insurance policy that covers all the personal and property damage they caused, a plaintiff can file a personal injury lawsuit. The injured person, their family (in the case of a wrongful death), or their estate could ask for monetary and punitive damages. Monetary damages are compensation for items such as hospital bills or anticipated future earnings of the person who passed. Punitive damages to the plaintiff are meant to punish a person who was extremely negligent or reckless.

Since Texas is a proportionate responsibility state, a person needs to show that the other driver was more than 50 percent at fault for the crash (TX Civ Prac & Rem § 33.001). A Premont car accident lawyer could help injured persons and families receive monetary payments without ever having to step foot in a courthouse.

Contact a Premont Car Accident Attorney

Motor vehicle accidents are extremely common but they can upend your life if you suffer debilitating injuries. It may be in your best interest to contact a Premont car accident lawyer by phone or with our online contact form to get started on your case. We offer free consultations to injured people who need some financial help.